Welcome back. Or should I welcome myself back? Hm, odd. Well my hiatus has ended. It really need to. I have missed ranting on about nothing. I am sure those around me have missed me ranting on about nothing via this medium simply because now they have to hear me verbally unload on them everyday.  Well, lucky for them I think I will go ahead and give them a break and head back to written word in hopes of lightening their load.

Guys, I am so happy to be back. Hopefully you are happy to be back as well. I think you will be when you see what this post will be all about. Have you seen the title? That’s a subtle hint for ya.

So brief catch up then I will get to what everyone really wanted to see when they moved the mouse over this link and clicked away.

The reason for my extended absence is very simple. School. Dag blasted school. Things got a little crazy their for a bit and my life was essentially overtaken. But don’t you worry, I survived. Now I have shifted from classroom to clinic. In other words, we are on clinical rotations and I get to put my education to work. Scary, right? I know it scares me. But so far, so good. No complaints here.

To be honest I probably should have geared back up for some writing awhile ago at the start of my first rotation, that has taken place in a hospital because I am full of interesting patient stories. I may begin to share a few with you guys as time passes, obviously within HIPAA regulations because ain’t nobody got time for a $50,000 bill, getting kicked out of school and losing any chance of ever being a physical therapist.

So that’s basically the low down. I won’t bore you any longer. On to the BROWNIES.

So I dreamed up these brownies awhile ago, with the start of Ball Fridays (oh man, I have to fill you in on Ball Fridays, they are epic). This brownie was first a ball. Believe it or not.

It all started when I thought to myself, how can I take brownies to another level? Add some oreo truffle goodness to those babies and viola. Easy, peasy, lemon squeezy. So boom, I went for it. I mean after all, no one hates brownies and they definitely don’t hate oreos, so why not marry the two in a decadent dessert creation.

Now for the recipe you all want me to shut up and get to.

It’s painfully simple.

1. Bake your favorite type of brownies according to the directions of the brownie box. You can use 13×9 or 8×8 or 9×9, it really just depends on your desired thickness for the bars. The thicker, the better, in my book. For these I used the Ghiradelli “Double Chocolate” Brownie mix in an 8×8 pan. Another delicious addition if you really want to add another flavor dimension, throw in a cup or so of peanut butter chips in those brownies prior to baking. Oreos + Peanut Butter=Perfection. Don’t question me. Just do it.

2. While the brownies are baking crush one package of Double Stuffed Oreos. Just throw the whole pack in a giant ziploc bag and take out all the week’s frustrations on those little chocolate sandwich cookies. Beat until you see no more large cookie chunks.

3. Place oreo crumbs in a large bowl and add one block of cream cheese, then mix until well combined.

4. Once brownies have cooled, use those two hands God gave ya and generously spread that delightful oreo mixture over the brownies until you have achieved even thickness across the pan.

5. Melt approximately one cup of semi sweet chocolate chips (or peanut butter chips or milk chocolate or white chocolate), then spread evenly on top of oreo mixture.

6. Garnish with chocolate chips, crushed oreos, peanut butter chips, white chocolate chips or any combination of the four. You may do whatever your little heart desires.

7. Place in fridge until chocolate hardens.

8. Cut into your desired size and serve. Or sit down with a utensil of your choice while clothed in the comfiest of sweat, curled up on your cozy couch with your movie of choice playing in the background and devour. Have no shame.

Oreo Truffle Brownie

Oreo Truffle Brownie

With these brownies it is important to remember there are no limits. They cannot be tamed. Dream a dream then make it happen. If you like the vanilla oreos crunch those babies up instead of regular oreos. If you prefer Betty Crocker to Pillsbury, Betty Crocker it up. If you prefer sugar free….scrrrr. Wait. No. Sugar free? I change my mind. There are definitely boundaries. You must keep the sugar. Extra sugar, please.

Welp. It’s that easy.

These brownies will change your life. I swear. And if you are doubting me at this moment you, well keep doubting while I am over here grubbing on these brownies and making big life decisions. Like what I should eat for lunch.

Seriously though, I should warn you guys. Once you try these brownies your life will not be the same. Ever again. You will be in the grips of chocolate ecstasy. There will be no turning back. Your lips will meet this divine treat, your eyelids will slowly meet and you will slip into a state of immense joy. You will want to hug strangers, roll around in a bed of sunflowers and skip from place to place because walking just won’t do it for you anymore. So, you have been warned.

DISCLAIMER: I am not responsible for any persons who develop any hallucinations of grandeur, thoughts of immense joy  or permanent smiles due to the consumption of the divine treat outlined in this blog.

Enjoy. 🙂